Allysa Johnson

Should money take precedence over passion? April 1, 2010

Filed under: Weekly Blogs — allysanichelle @ 11:01 pm

April 1, 2010

I added this post to my “list of ideas of topics to post on my blog” a couple of days ago. Lately I’ve been coming up with different thoughts or ideas on what I could add to my  blog and for most of them, I haven’t really felt like I had much to say. Today Alec’s brother George Couros spoke to our ECMP class about many different things that, if used effectively, will not only help us to land a teaching position, but will also help us to become better teachers. One of the words that really stood out for me from this presentation was Passion. George talked about how important it is to show your passion: “If you’re a dancer, dance with the kids!” I fell in love with this sentence! Passion… that  is a crucial component of any career. (I instantly felt I was ready to complete this blog post)

When I started this blog post, it was because of a recurring conversation I seemed to  be having with my boyfriend, Travis, about money and careers. I knew that when I chose teaching as my career, my passion, I wasn’t doing it for the money. I had an idea of what the income of a teacher was, but I honestly didn’t look into exact numbers until about a year ago. Teaching was my passion, and nothing was going to stop me from doing it.  Travis has never brought up money when it comes to me being a teacher, I know that he has the utmost respect for this job and values my passion. However! Where we began to argue was when it came to other jobs. He made a point the other day about how people could go into a job (ie. banking) that only start at 35 a year when you start a job (ie. construction) that could potentially make close to 75 a year. But, his main argument comes from the thought of people being paid so little to do a job that required years of schooling where any “joeblow” could come right out of high school and make twice as much as someone with a university degree. He has so much respect for people who dedicate years to university and yet so often they come out not making very much money. (ie. A friend of ours who is going to school for 8+ years only to start at 60,000 a year) My response to this point was one word – passion. I believe that if you have a passion for something, you will do whatever it takes to obtain that job, or skill. Right now it may seem exciting to get out into the working world and make a lot of money, but what about in 10, 15, 20 years from now? Will you still have the “passion” you once had for that job? Or will you realize that the job never really made you happy, and it was just the money that made it worth it in the end. For me, I can’t imagine one day in my life without teaching! I know that this is something I want to do for the rest of my life, because teaching is my passion, kids are my passion. Really, what’s not to love?? You walk into school every day and you’re a celebrity! I believe that when you have a passion for something, you will do whatever it takes to make that something extraordinary. This is what I plan to do with my teaching. I know that some days I will lack the energy and enthusiasm it takes to stand up in front of a grade 5 class, but because of the passion I possess towards teaching, students, and being a lifelong learner, there is no doubt in my mind that I will be able to push through, from now and for the next 30+ years.

 

5 Responses to “Should money take precedence over passion?”

  1. George Couros Says:

    Passion is something that I believe is that you also need to help kids find when you teach them. Money is something that is important, and according to Dan Pink, it is important that you feel you are fairly compensated for the work you do, but true happiness comes out of doing what you enjoy and if teaching is that thing, you will have many years of passionate work ahead of you.

    In my career, I have found that my passions grow and become different throughout the years, and I am always willing to adapt in my career to do what I love. Hopefully I can help others find their passion as well 🙂

    Thanks for the mention!

  2. Hey Allysa,
    I learned of your blog because I follow Alec on Twitter. I teach 4th grade – 11 years – in Colorado. I love how enthusiastic you are about teaching. After 11 years, I find that I still can’t turn my brain “off” when it comes to teaching and how to better each day. I know that I’ve found my passion and I let the money take care of itself. You will find in teaching that there are going to be many areas of interest that you may follow. Your passion for teaching will bring you tears of joy, tears of sorrow, and tears of frustration. And it will all feed your passion for kids.
    Best of luck to you in your educational future.

  3. Mike Wolf Says:

    I could have went to SIAST for a couple years. By now I would have been out of school, likely making more money than I’d be making as a teacher. It’s about having that passion that you talk about, though. I don’t want to end up grumpy in ten years. I want to go to work knowing that I love what I do and that I make a difference.

  4. George – I completely agree with your point! We should feel compensated for the work we do. I wonder if I will always feel compensated for hours of extra curricular activity I will be putting in to my school? I know during my internship while I was spending every lunch hour and after school time on extra curricular – money never even crossed my mind, (Of course you don’t get paid for internship…) I just thought about the relationships I was building with my students.

    Tami – Thank you so much for reading and commenting on my blog! Your passion for teaching is very inspiring, and you’re right, follow your passion and the money will follow. Your passion for your students shines right through your comment. 🙂

    Mike – Thank you for your comment! Good luck in your future teaching!

  5. fallen46 Says:

    I totally agree. Teaching is almost never about the money. My boyfriend went to college for a year to become a welder, and he’s on his way to makeing 35-40 an hour. When he joked with me how he’ll always be making more than me, I asked him “Ya you might make more money, but how many lives will you change?” I wish my brain could take pictures because his face was priceless. I think that’s the first time he’s realized why I want to teach. It’s about changing lives, and about being a leader in a changing world.


Leave a comment